Strategy Corner 2007, Vol 1: Park Effects and You

Discuss the Brewster Baseball Association here!
cheekimonk
BBA GM

Strategy Corner 2007, Vol 1: Park Effects and You

Post by cheekimonk » Sat Oct 06, 2012 10:51 am

Strategy Corner is an idea I've been kicking around since about the 2004 season but got too much into the details of making it more complicated than it needs to be. So I've going to toss the feature into the fray and see what comes of it (if anything).

Welcome to Strategy Corner! My intent with this feature is to pose more advanced, supposedly, considerations in being a successful OOTP GM (or, perhaps, more insight into why you are not a successful OOTP GM. My goal is to have Strategy Corner focus on issues that are faced by both OOTP and MLB GMs/managers so that responses can draw both from OOTP and real-life examples. That said, however, priority should be given to considering strategies that seem to work, or not, with OOTP's engine if there seems to be a gap.

Most importantly, my intention is not to "own" Strategy Corner. Anyone can, and it is very much hoped they will, post a "Strategy Corner" piece according to the general guidelines below:

1. Anyone can create a "Strategy Corner" post. Every post should a) be named in the format: "Strategy Corner season, Vol incremental number (if Vol 3 was the last Strategy Corner posted by someone, next would be Vol 4): Short title indicating the topic" and b) by a "meaty" enough issue for discussion (i.e., "Is position rating a composite of Range, Errors, and Arm" is no good, but "Shortstops Slugger McBrickhands vs. Ozzie Sacbuntly" should be a good topic...basically, if your strategy issue can conceivably be answered 'Yes' or 'No' than that's no good.