OOTP Tips and Tricks

Important Files, Links, and Questions
Lane
GB: Vice Commissioner

OOTP Tips and Tricks

Post by Lane » Mon Feb 08, 2021 9:06 pm

So, @GoldenOne and I were chatting on slack today working through some OOTP technical issues and I introduced him to the concept of "Import via FTP"

So I'm making this OOTP Tips and Tricks thread, where I'll post a few "did you know you could do this" things and I hope that you do too, because I'm far from an expert myself.

IMPORT VIA FTP
So, we all know how to "Export via FTP" but did you know that you can "Import via FTP" as well?

This can be useful for when the game crashes and you don't want to re-do all your work, or mis-clicks where you want to restore to a previous point without re-downloading the file.

So go to your Rosters & Transactions page, and click on the "ACTIONS" drop down on the top right. From there you can Import via FTP and it will load the last file that exists on the server from your previous upload. Of course, this is only useful if you've already exported for the current game date.

BONUS!

While we're in that menu, you can also Import/Export to File. This drops your team file into:

C:\blahblah\OOTP Baseball 21\saved_games\Brewster.lg\import_export

Or if you're on mac it goes to the mac place. :shrug:

The file is called team_##.ootp

But what would I use this for, you ask? You could send it to yourself to load on another computer, or you could send it to Matt if you're unable to export via FTP.

RE-DOWNLOAD CURRENT LEAGUE FILE

Handy if you made a mistake/want to undo something and need a fresh file without doing a full re-install.

Navigate to OOTP\saved_games\brewster.lg\settings and delete "online_league_file_time.cfg"

Return to game, and download as usual.

FILTER BY SHORTLIST