Ramblings and Rumblings, Volume 6 in 2042: My Burt League All-Star Ballot

johnd2442
Ex-GM

Ramblings and Rumblings, Volume 6 in 2042: My Burt League All-Star Ballot

Post by johnd2442 » Mon Apr 27, 2020 7:01 pm

My UMEBA Burt League All-Star BallotRamblings and Rumblings, Issue 6, 2042 Season

Because I’m not a prolific enough writer and didn’t dedicate as much time to the project as I should have, I ran out of time to give all of my candidates for all-star voting. So, I move on and I’ll disclose who I voted for on my UMEBA Burt League All-Star ballot. If I have time, I’ll do one for the Bancroft League as well. This one took me longer than I was expecting.

Some of my choices may be unpopular, I’m not sure, but regardless, I’ll try my best to give thoughtful reasons for all of my voting choices.

Position Players

Catcher

PlayerBAOBP%SLG%PAHRwRC+WAR
Hedde Veenman, Manama.279.423.492310131362.8
Call me a slave to on base percentage, and you’d be right. I don’t love Hedde Veenman’s batting average, especially when compared to Anibal Garcia’s .315, but Veenman’s OBP is better than anyone else and his slugging percentage is way higher than any other Burt League catcher. Plus he’s created more runs and has a far and away higher WAR than any other catcher on the ballot. Like I profiled on my all-star outlook for catchers, I felt it was between Veenman and Istanbul’s Garcia, but Veenman wins out for me. Is it also weird that I am partial to Hedde’s first name because it reminds me of Blazing Saddles and Harvey Korman repeatedly saying “It is Hedley, not Hedy!”?

First Base

Alejandro Gutierrez, Manama.293.359.44937391051.6